Thread: Waterlox, Stickiness & Wax?

Waterlox, Stickiness & Wax?

Hi -

Finishing a small mahogany coffee table with high gloss waterlox. Applied first coat with a brush, let it dry for 24 hours, sanded with 220 grit (very lightly, then meticulously cleaned up with first a cloth, then a vacuum, then a hand/vacuum technique i found on youtube), applied second coat with a brush, dried for 24 hours, applied 3rd coat (no sanding b/w 2 & 3 coats).

My question is this: The table is tacky....almost sticky. This is my first time using waterlox, and unsure of what the final product is supposed to feel like, so should have to supplement this finish with a wax of some sort to get a nice high-gloss, slippery smooth surface?

Any comments much appreciated!

Edit - I live in PA, and the workshop is my unheated, uninsulated garage. It's been about 30 degrees throughout this entire process
    Last edited by Alex Knapp; 01-19-2011 at 5:32 PM.

I have only used Waterlox Original, but it is never sticky, soft, or tacky when cured. It is very hard. Either the application was off a little, or the product was out of date if that is possible. In the first case, i.e., application, it might be that with that many coats and only 24 hours between you might have sealed in some uncured varnish underneath. I do know that it says 24 hours for recoat on the can, but I'm sure that depends on temp and humidity. I'm sure that 30 degrees is the culprit here. As far as stale date, I think the only thing that Waterlox does when it goes out of date is to get gelled up and chunky. My novice experience with this product.

Give it some time, it'll take about a month to get really hard.
    Bring it inside if you can - that'll help some.
    I like to wait longer between coats if possible, but you did not do wrong by coating the way you did.
    The low temperature is the problem, but it will finally harden.