Thread: My First Post, My First Two Projects

My First Post, My First Two Projects

Hello, all. I just joined SMC today, and I'm looking forward to learning as much as I can from all of you. There is quite a collection of masters here, I see. I'm quite new to the art - I'm a concrete guy by trade, but I love working with wood, and I'm excited to increase in skills as time goes on. I only have the basic tools so far - a small tablesaw, a router, planer and scrollsaw, but it's enough to do some solid work for now (just have to scratch my head a little more to solve problems!)

Anyway, here are the fruits of my first woodchips! Looking forward to chatting with you guys!

This is a pine ladder shelf - my wife thinks I'm Superman now.

I made four boxes out of rough sawn poplar - I tried to implement a lot of different joinery for practice - each box has tongue and groove, double lap, and open mortise and tenon joints.

And they fit here! No more clutter.

Thanks for looking!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Mark, great first post and welcome to SMC! I really like the boxes and the color you were able to achieve.
    Please help support the Creek.

"It's paradoxical that the idea of living a long life appeals to everyone, but the idea of getting old doesn't appeal to anyone."
    Andy Rooney

I wished that my projects were this nicely executed Great work. Proportions look great and excellent detailing on the boxes.
    Michael Mastin
    McKinney Hardwood Lumber
    Exotic and figured woods

Blog Entries
    Welcome Mark
    Great looking projects. I also like the detailing on the boxes. You have to watch out though...your wife might expect more projects. When she shows you what she wants next, wait a couple of seconds, then "set the hook" with "Great...but I need more tools".

By the way...with a Dutch name like that.. are you in "West Michigan"?