Thread: Alder lumber

Alder lumber

I have an opportunity to buy 55 BF of 4/4 Alder for 1/2 the market price. I have never used Alder before and the guy called it poor mans Cherry. I understand the grain looks similar to Cherry and when stained it can be hard to see the difference. I plan on building a Cherry Vanity cabinet in the master bath and in a seperate room I will make some cabinets from the Alder. I am thinking this will look good since they are in seperate rooms. Have any of you mixed Alder with Cherry to make a project and are you happy with the results?

Regards!
    Ed

I've used some alder in the past and have a bit stored for the future; I use it for guitar bodies.

Alder is very soft and doesn't take much of a hit before it dents. I wouldn't want to use alder on a horizontal working/wear surface. Alder lumber can have quite a lot of defects, usually knots and some pretty serious end checks so I would want to look at the parcel you have in mind before I iced the deal. The grain in alder is even more subtle than subtle!

If you're after poor man's cherry I think that poplar would perhaps be a better choice. You're going to have to dye both anyways and I've seen poplar pieces finished well enough that they looked so much like cherry that I did a double take and had to get up really close to believe it. Poplar is always cheap and it is a fair bit harder than alder in my experience.

If the lumber is good, easy to pick up from the sellers location and the price is less than poplar then you may have a deal on your hands but you can always fall back on poplar if you're less than convinced.