Thread: On the curve!

On the curve!

Hi all!

The learning curve that is!
    This is the next HF in the process I am really enjoying the process of exploring colour and line. This is a trail and probably an error with regard to the colour its a piece of Oak which I dyes with royal blue and purple spirit stain then went over the piece with liming wax before the stain had fully dried the effect was to create lilac coloured wax very odd! still it has the effect of changing colour as the light falls on it so I guess its in the hmm interesting category

about 5 inches high all and any comment welcomed I think the shape is better this time inthe short time I have been making this shape I can see a development which is something!

Thanks for looking

Trick-of-the-light-600.jpg
    Ermmm ............ lots of miles from Mr S very many miles

Richard, I am not experienced enough to give a good technical critique but I like the form and the coloring.

I think you've discovered some exciting aspects of coloration, Richard. The variation and color transitions are very pleasing. My only critique, which is irrelevant, is that the ingrain in the oak tends to distract from all those color transitions for me. The form is great. This would be an astounding piece in a wood with a tight ingrain....like maple or something.

Very nice work.
    ~john
    "There's nothing wrong with Quiet" ` Jeremiah Johnson

Richard, I kinda like the coloration on this one, but I would have to say I liked the form better on the "Journey" piece. This one is a little heavy in the bottom for my tastes, but well done nonetheless! Oak seems to lend itself to such varied color applications. I have been watching your work with increased interest on trying some more dye applications with oak.