Thread: Phil Thien Separator Testimonial

Thumbs up Phil Thien Separator Testimonial

This may be “preaching to the choir,” but I thought I would post the results of a two-year and counting shop experiment. I bought a Grizzly G0548Z dust collector in the spring of 2009 and built a Phil Thien separator for a 30-gallon metal trash can at the same time. I followed Phil’s design as closely as I could and scaled it up for 4” hose connections. The collector serves my table saw, jointer, and planer. (For routing and sanding I use a shop-vac.)

I am a hobbyist as you can probably tell from the basement pictures. In the two years I have had this dust collection setup I have emptied the trash can about 20-25 times, but I have NEVER changed the plastic bag on the dust collector. This is the very first one that I installed when I set up the dust collector in 2009. The trash can fills all the way up to the baffle before sending appreciable material through to the bag. This has happened a few times accidentally and a few times intentionally when I was almost done working and just didn't want to stop to empty the can. I estimate that more than half of the material in the plastic bag is from those instances.

A little “crude” math…

After two years the plastic bag contains about one trash can full of material (probably less, but say one to be conservative). So even ignoring my few known overflows, the separator has a collection ratio of more than 20:1 (95%) of the material coming through (by volume and probably mass too). If I try to factor in the few times I know I over-filled the trash can and estimate that the bag contains "half a can full" of material or less, then the collection ratio goes up to 40:1 to 50:1 (97-98%) or higher.