Thread: Question first post

Question first post

Been lurking for a while been reading and reading... but need some advise... Looking in buying a SCM sandblasters.. I'm a firefighter... Myself and a other FF is looking to get into this market.. He owns a large landscaping company and between the two of us and our network of FF's we know a lot of guys in the remodeling trades..... We want to get in carving stones and glass custom stuff... our wives want to do the small stuff.. glasses and wedding stuff......

Here is my question.. we want to pull the trigger on a system but after reading can I go out a buy a portable and shop system cheaper then the guys... also they have a 24 inch stencil maker... can we buy a stencil maker else where.... I can not draw a straight line with a T-square so I need to stencil or trace u know what I mean.. If u buy the SCM system u have every thing in on box... we are looking at the Jet Stream Advantage system It is going to be a chunk of money... but it has everything.. anyway I think I got my question out.. looking for any advise... thanks ART

Hi Art, I've never seen that setup before. The people that I see at every trade show I've ever been to around this stuff are Rayzist and Ikonics Imaging. I've always seen the masks made by exposing them through a unit and washing the film after that, to expose the area to be blasted.

http://www.ikonicsimaging.com/sandcarving_equipment.php

http://www.rayzist.com/
    Lasers : Trotec Speedy 300 75W, Trotec Speedy 300 80W, Galvo Fiber Laser 20W
    Printers : Mimaki UJF-6042 UV Flatbed Printer , HP Designjet L26500 61" Wide Format Latex Printer, Summa S140-T 48" Vinyl Plotter
    Router : ShopBot 48" x 96" CNC Router Rotary Engravers : (2) Xenetech XOT 16 x 25 Rotary Engravers

Real name Steve but that name was taken on the forum. Used Middle name. Call me Steve or Scott, doesn't matter.

Art,