Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nailer/ Compressor help needed!!

Question Nailer/ Compressor help needed!!

OK guys, starting to look @ air compressors and nailers . Will be doing some walls in my workshop soon and decided to finally treat myself to a framing nailer as well as later (what I really need ) a brad nailer. Of course, need an air compressor. Realizing I'm a hobbyist and with a bad back ,(don't want a 200lb monster), what should I look for and what really matters? Is CFM the key ? how about HP, tank size and PSI? Should I get oil-less or direct drive or belt drive? What brands do you guys reco? AND what nailers are the best and what sizes should I get for WWing? Do u need a finish nailer if you have a brad nailer? Anyway, you help/ advice will be a big help!! This post shows how little I know about this subject. For years, I have resisted because I dreaded the idea of dragging around the compressor and the wire. Thanks in advance...
    Jerry

If you are buying this as a hobbyist and don't plan on doing any major construction, I would reccomend looking at the compressor and nailer bundle kits offered by Bostich, Porter Cable, etc... I have an old, but trusty Bostich compressor and a few nailers and they have done well. They are usually a good deal compared to purchasing the items separately. You will find many uses for a brad nailer when you do your ww projects and around the house. The rest of the info is beyond my experience and knowledge.
    A flute without holes, is not a flute. A donut without a hole, is a Danish.

Jerry,

As Dan said, if you are only looking to run nailers, you could get by with one of the combos that go on sale every now and then. It would be a very good buy.

Tank size = the volume of air in reserve.

CFM is the amount of air that the compressor will put out at a said PSI. You will need a very high CFM compressor if you want to run automotive air rachets, spray guns, etc.