Thread: New Guy with questions

New Guy with questions

Just found you guys and have been reading posts. I just got an Epilog 25w mini. I have been using a CNC plasma burner cutting steel for about 5 years, decided to branch out with laser. I have worked with autocad for 15 years, so I know a little about vectors. But, first question, when converting to Corel, epilog says use wmf. Why does the laser cut each segment seperately? My cnc converts to path.
    2. Where do you buy the Alder or Cherry plaques, from besides LaserBits?
    3. Is Photograv worth it to do marble?

Thanks for listening to the newbie.

Tim,

I am not a laser guy, but I did want to welcome you to the Creek! This is the best forum on the net in my opinion. Welcome aboard and enjoy your stay!

Jeff

Tim,

First I am surprised that you don't run the system directly through autocad is there a reason you are not?

Second you can get the wood plaques from here www.studioworkshop.com

and photograve works O.K. with marble but I think it is better suited for Granite more than Marble. You should be able to just use gray scale files when working on marble.

I have some files that have both raster and vector. The problem I am talking about is that the laser will jump all around burning a segment here and a segment there, not following the parts path. Thanks for the link on the blanks.

Tim

Check your driver for a grouping or sorting setting. There also might be a cluster setting.
    Also, in Corel Draw, keep the Object Manager available so you can see what's going on.
    You can order (just drag them) the lines (curves) and raster in Draw which affects how they are sent to the driver. In addition to that grouping objects should help. You could also arrange the groups in the manager in Draw. I'd check the driver first but the other stuff is good to know.

Hi Tim,