Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: veneer help

Cool veneer help

I took a dive into another unchartered territory (for me) of woodworking. Got me a bunch of burl veneer and am going to try and use it on a table top, 12"X40". I've never worked with veneer before and don't have a vacuum press either. I have done some reading and it seems I can pull it off using contact cement and some good planning.

I seek your opinions on the pros and cons of using contact cement, not that I have a choice (being without a vacuum press) but I would still like to educate myself. What kind of cement/glue works best if I have to apply a glossy top coat, such as polyurethane.

Any other methods besides vacuum press I can use to bookmatch and apply veneer to a substrate.

If you can provide links to on-line tutorials it will be great.
    The means by which an end is reached must exemplify the value of the end itself.

contact cement NO NO ! Get some unibond 800. You can bond a veneer to a top in many ways- remember we didn't always have vaccuum presses. You can put some cawls on it and use clamps, you always have to be careful however of the veneer moving, so I recommend taping the book matches together with veneer tape (on the top or "good" side if it's not a backed veneer. I would recommend not starting with a burl as they have challenges (less so if a backed veneer.) I would buy some cheap ash or maple veneers and experiment with them.

I seem to recall there is some glue information on the joe woodworker web site that you might find helpful. While they sell parts to construct your own vacuum press, there is also quiet a bit of verneering info there.

Without a press I would look at hide glue and hammer veneering. That was the way it was done for hundreds of years before presses. Try to find "Tage Frid Teaches Woodworking". I think it just came back into print from Taunton. He has quite a section on veneering which would be a great place to start.