Thread: Taking bark off a burl.....how do you do it?

Taking bark off a burl.....how do you do it?

After my recent foray into the "dark side" of burls............I want to find out if turning the bark off a burl is the wrong approach. Should one try to get it off by prying so as to preserve the figure in the sapwood, and retain most of the figure?

As I mentioned in an earlier post............I am not very experienced with burls........have only turned three to date and one was a piece that had no bark [redwood burl]

How do you proceed to getting at and keeping most of what makes a burl so desirable? Is it mostly the characteristics of an individual piece of wood, and one just has to take his chance by turning it off, or is there a better way?
    Remember, in a moments time, everything can change!

Vision - not just seeing what is, but seeing what can be!

My experience with burl is that if it is dry the bark will almost fall off. But if it's still somewhat green it needs to be coaxed a little. I have some old dental tools, sort of some curved pick type things that I can get under the bark and pick at it. If you had some of those picks that came with the old nut cracker sets, the things you use to dig a pecan from the shell, I think they would work well too.

Remember, in a moments time, everything can change!

Vision - not just seeing what is, but seeing what can be!

The burl dealers will power wash some of the burls to remove them, but I suspect the bark had dried on those.
    -------
    No, it's not thin enough yet.
    -------