Thread: Record 53E Vise

Question Record 53E Vise

Hello to all! I have been lurking for about the last year, ever since I got the urge to use hand tools in my woodworking attemps. I am a complete novice, but with the help of everyone who has posted on the forum, I think I have gained much knowledge about hand tools in the past year. Thank you!!!

Now to my questions. I have an chance to get an almost new Record 53E vise for the workbench I plan to make in the coming months. But this thing is HUGH! Do I need a vise this big? I plan on making some bedroom furniture as my first major project. Everything up to now has been much smaller scale...a couple of shelves, a box for the firewood, a drawer divider. etc. Will the large vise be that much of a help as I work on the larger items? Will the large vise get in my way as I do other work at the bench that doesn't need a vise? Any and all advice is welcome. Thanks.

Bob

Bob,

Welcome to SMC!! - smart folks around here; unfortunatly for you, I'm not one of them.

With that said, I'll still offer this advice...

The record 53e vise is certainly a brute - workhorse that will last several lifetimes. It has been a "total classic" for many, many woodworkers over the years - You need a stout benchtop for this to attach too. If your getting it for next to nothing - I certainly wouldn't hesitate to get the vise. What's the price of this puppy???

Some guys don't like a metal vise, some do --its just kinda your preference.

Every workworker needs a good bench and a good, solid, strong vise -------not a little weak one.

I went ahead and got the vise. The guy selling it had another interested party, but since he offered it to me first, he gave me first refusal. I paid $32.50 for it. I don't think it has ever been mounted to a bench. I will post pictures as soon as I get it home and figure out the picture posting procedures.