Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Yet Another Concrete coating question

Yet Another Concrete coating question

It looks like we are closing Monday on what my wife refers to as 'A shop with detached house'. The shop is a 10x20 wood floored shed that had a 20x30 pole barn built in front of it. the barn later (2007) had a concrete floor poured and the area between the poles filled in.
    the concrete is smooth - not broomed - but appears unsealed. As a woodturner / woodworker I think it needs to be sealed and was planning on painting it. So I have a few questions of those who have been there:

1) Looking at 2 part epoxy - is this what I want or is one part worth considering? Pros and cons? Cost difference is not an issue. Keeping it clean is.

2) Sand and / or speckles to make it non slip? The example of the speckles at the local Borg looked like the speckles were very much on top of the paint and would catch dust.

3) How long to do this? from what i could see the floor did not look stained - do you have to acid wash? How long after before you can apply? How long before I can move equipment in?
    Retired - when every day is Saturday (unless it's Sunday).

Quote Originally Posted by Thom Sturgill View Post
    It looks like we are closing Monday on what my wife refers to as 'A shop with detached house'. The shop is a 10x20 wood floored shed that had a 20x30 pole barn built in front of it. the barn later (2007) had a concrete floor poured and the area between the poles filled in.
    the concrete is smooth - not broomed - but appears unsealed. As a woodturner / woodworker I think it needs to be sealed and was planning on painting it. So I have a few questions of those who have been there:

1) Looking at 2 part epoxy - is this what I want or is one part worth considering? Pros and cons? Cost difference is not an issue. Keeping it clean is.