Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Given a choice, polyurethane, shellac, or lacquer, which one??

Given a choice, polyurethane, shellac, or lacquer, which one??

What finish do you go for when finishing most of your projects, polyurethane, shellac, or lacquer?? I'm new to woodworking and I'm curious which one I should be leaning towards for making things like country shelves, cabinets, and things to hang on the wall, or some small furniture items like tables or benches, chests, and that sort of thing. Is it totally unheard of to just stain an item and not apply a topcoat at all?? Some things I've made look good that way, like a simple little coat rack I made with knobs on it that just fastens to a wall for looks with some built in function as well.
    Last edited by Duane Bledsoe; 12-16-2011 at 9:59 PM.

Each of the finishes you mentioned have different traits and qualities.

Stain by itself is not a good idea.

Poly is a type of varnish... In my book poly is for floors, PERIOD. There are much better varnishes for furniture.

Poly is tough but not very hard. Furniture is better protected with a hard varnish if a varnish is needed. Finish manufaturers spend all their ad money on poly because there is more profit in the poly varnish than in the better and more expensive varnishes.