Thread: Tool Review: Busy Bee Outboard Extension

Tool Review: Busy Bee Outboard Extension

I posted my little gloat on the Grizzly Green Monster group page when this first arrived. One of the guys there suggested I do a review. Since I am fairly new at turning and this is my first foray into outboard turning, I decided to just post my observations and then answer any questions that come up, as I can't anticipate all of them. The Outboard Extension is 20-1/4" long. The ways are 4" wide, compared to 7" on my lathe and about 3/8" thick, compared to 5/8+" on the lathe. It comes with a small banjo, a swing arm extension and a riser for a 1" tool rest (not included). It has three holes in a triangle pattern with bolts that fit the tapped holes in the leg of the lathe (mine is the Grizzly GO698, but I think many of the 1847 lathes are the same). There are two tapped holes with matching bolts, but I don't know what they are for. The enclosed parts list mentions mounting to a 12" lathe, so maybe they are for that. There are no instructions.

IMG_1197.jpg
    From bed to center is just over 15", from the top of the banjo it's 13-3/4" approx. At maximum extension, the tool rest is about 13-5/8" from center.

I mounted up a a blank just to try it out. The piece was an oval "round" of black walnut left by the sawyer about 18" x22" and 3/4" thick. I started by truing the face with a 1/2" bowl gouge. There was considerable flex in the swing extension, perhaps 1/4" when the gouge caught on a 1/8" cut. Based on this, I suspect there will be a lot of flex when the swing arm and banjo are fully extended.

IMG_1186.jpg