Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wall cabinet construction question - 1/2" plywood back instead of nailers?

Wall cabinet construction question - 1/2" plywood back instead of nailers?

I'm tired of messing around with nailers on wall cabinets and am considering going with a 1/2" plywood back instead, just driving the screws through the plywood in lieu of the nailers. Anyone try this? I'm guessing that 1/2" plywood is sufficiently strong. I could go with 3/4" backs but that's added weight and cost that I'd like to avoid.

I've been making cabinets for several years and it seems that every new project brings different ideas and methods; I find myself spending lots of time rethinking how I build cabinets. It would be nice to settle on one method - my productivity would definately benefit

Thx
    Scott Vroom

I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.

I like putting the nailer on the outside of the cabinet -- on the top. It doesn't show, and the screws going through it don't either. If I happen to miss a stud with a screw, no problem, just drill another hole.

I use 1/2" backs that are attached to 3/4" plywood box parts. The backs are cut to be the exact with and hight to flush with the bottom of the bottom and the top of the top. This is an excellent way to square up your cabinet and insure that the sides are straight. I attach the backs with 1-1/4" crown staples just to get the back on square and in place then I finish up with 1-1/4" screws. Glue is not effective and unneeded as my backs are typically prefin maple. I sometimes screw through the backs directly and sometimes use cabinet hangers depending on my mood and field conditions.