Thread: Mantle stile fluting

Mantle stile fluting

I just registered after lurking for a few weeks. All of the members seem to be helpful and patient with questions and I hope to be able to add to the forums in the future.

But right now I have a question.

I am new at this so maybe my terminilogy won't even be correct but here goes.

I am trying to make a fireplace surround (electric fireplace in south Florida, mainly for the appearance from the lighting) and am planning ahead for when I get to the mantle stiles.

I have looked through the internet using Google and found only a few references to jigs for this process. I would like to do them small and close if possible but when doing a test piece based on just layout marks on the piece of wood I find it a little nerve racking to get them stopped, started and smooth throughout the length of the flute.

The stiles are to be 5 1/2" in width and 34" in length with either a plinth block or possibly a rosette top and bottom. The flutes could all be the same length or vee angled.

I had emailed Pat Warner and discussed his fluting as pictured on his site but he only said that it was "dicey" and wanted to sell me his double fence.

I have a DW625 and will be using a 3/8" bit for the flute.

The idea that is floating around in my head involves a brass bar (I have a set of brass bars from Whiteside 1/8" to 1/2") to index the distance between each flute for accuracy. Using a jig to align the router on the board and then possibly another jig on top of the first to register the flute using the brass bar to index to the next location, but can't quite get the combination sorted out.

Can anybody help?

Regards,
    Bill
    Last edited by Bill Antonacchio; 04-02-2005 at 7:59 AM.

Bill,