Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cleaning/finishing old wood (Typesetters trays)...few questions

Cleaning/finishing old wood (Typesetters trays)...few questions

Hi guys,
    I'm a graphic designer and I recently bought about 55 old printers/typesetters trays to clean/fix up for a summer project.
    I have a little experience with woodworking, but not a ton.
    Here are my questions:

1. Some of the boxes are in bad shape and have gotten wet at some point. Some of them have mold (yellow).
    What is the best way to simply clean wood? I want to clean all of them, even the ones without mold. Is it OK to clean with water? I have heard to use a mixture of water and soap or water and bleach for the mold. Is this the best way to go about this?

2. I would like to put some kind of natural finish on these. I really want something simple just to make the wood pop. I don't want it to be shiny or have a strong sheen...and I don't want it to be oily or smell. Ideally these will be hanging in people's houses. I want it to look natural...just not old and lifeless like they do now.
    I am thinking maybe danish oil or tung oil...but I have no real experience with finishes...so any input is much appreciated!

Thanks so much!

Here are a few pics of the nicer ones I am working with (I forgot to grab a pic of the moldy ones before I wrapped them up)

photo (5).jpgphoto (6).jpg

Zack, I'd really like to be of help, but with what little info you provide it's difficult. I can't make out the construction, no indication if the backs come of, whether the dividers are just glued in place or what? on top of that no pics of yellow mold - yellow molds are what were responsible for the "golden oak" craze to begin with, it normally is found on oak, but i cant tell if there is oak on these or not, the only pic I see that would indicate it may be, looks more like ash or chestnut than oak? I think your correct as to this being a whole summer project though.
    Sincerely,