Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about Powermatic 66 in small shop

Question about Powermatic 66 in small shop

I am a new woodworker who has been learning on hand me downs. I love it, but with 1 and 3 year olds, I only get about 2 or 3 hours on Sat and Sun to work. I do get to read about it a lot.

I had Craftsman table saw burn up and need a new one. My Dad has a Powermatic 66 that is circa 1980's (it is green), that he got as a gift several years ago when a buddy passed away. He did some work to clean it up (sanded some rust, waxed, etc), but fell out of habit of using it. He also has a floor standing Powermatic drill press and band saw. Since burning up my small saw I don't have any of these tools. I am not sure exactly what shape they are all in, the saw has had a solid door on it and served as a workbench for the last 5 years! He offered to let me have the tools, but I have to get them from Florida to Georgia, which will cost about 600$. These were originally state of art tools obviously.

I work in the 3rd bay of a 3 car garage, not much set up yet. I spend the first 30 minutes every Sat putting away the 75 plastic kid items that get scattered in my area during the week! I don't have dust collection, so far I have mostly kept my miter saw, table saw, and hand tools near the front of garage, and pull them out to use them to minimize dust. This has worked well and kept the garage cleaner.

So my questions:
    1) I need to look at the tools (or have my Dad do it), but I don't have any experience refurbishing things like this. Can anyone describe what I should expect on getting it here? I know it is huge so will have to find people to help me get it in there. I don't know what I would need to do to make sure they are ready to go (repairing rust if present, change belts, bearings, etc.). Googling has not helped me to learn what would need to be done to start using them (maintenance, how to adjust to square, etc).