Thread: Just got a new drum sander. Burning the paper. Help!

Just got a new drum sander. Burning the paper. Help!

I'm new to drum sanders, but need to get some exotic wood to a very consistant thickness, after resawing on my Minimax MM24.

So, I went out and bought the Performax 22-44.

Been cutting up some Bloodwood. Ran some though with 100 grit on the drum, and all looked great. Then, on one of the runs, I took off 1/32, rather than 1/64 like I had been doing, and I got a black streak on my bloodwood.

Burned it. Now, I've got a burned spot on my sand paper. I moved the wood over on the feed bed to hit a different spot on my drum, and it sanded the burned spot off, fine. But, anything I run through the drum sander, under the burned spot on the paper, yields a burned streak on my wood.

The book said my feed rate may have been too slow. I had it maxed. I think I just took too big of a cut, since bloodwood is so dense.

Questions:

1) When I burn a spot on my paper, is there any way to remove that burned spot? Or do I just avoid that area?

2) I noticed this thing isn't quite like a planer, in that when I run a board thru my planer a 2nd time, the knives won't hit the board, if I don't lower the head. However, I notice that with this sander, I can run a board thru 2 or 3 times, and the sand paper will still hit the wood, even without lowering the head. Is that normal?

Dee Dee,