Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jointer trips gfci when turned off?

Jointer trips gfci when turned off?

I have a Delta Shopmaster 6" jointer (JT360). The motor is a 3/4 hp, 13amp wired for 120v operation. I recently started running the jointer from a gfci protected line and every time I turn the power off, the motor trips the gfci. As it is winding down and nearly at a stop, I hear a tick sound coming from the motor which has always been normal but right after that the gfci will trip. The fact that is trips only when turned off has me confused. I have tried different outlets on the gfci line with the same result. If I plug the jointer into a non gfci protected outlet, it works fine. No other machines do this on the gfci outlets. Anyone have experience with this?

I did speak with an electrician who suggested I check the manual to see if Delta suggests the machine not be operated from a gfci. The manual says nothing about using a gfci to power the machine. From other thread searches it seems the common thing to try first would be to replace the gfci in case it's a faulty outlet, but all those problems are from tripping the gfci during use. Not when the machine is powered down like I have. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

That jointer appears to have a simple ON/OFF switch which I suspect only switches one pole of the power. There are two things that will trip a GFCI:
    1. An imbalance between the current going out of the hot leg and returning on the neutral.
    2. An interconnection between the neutral and ground.

Since there ought to be NO current flowing when the power switch is OFF, I suspect the second is the issue.
    Somewhere in the thing, in the course of spinning down, there's a ground-to-neutral fault.
    The tick you hear may be the centrifugal switch that connects/disconnects the start winding. It's possible that there's a fault there.