Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recommend a cnc to me

Recommend a cnc to me

Which cnc should I get? Assume I am never making more than this one object but will need to make hundreds (hopefully) over the next few years. Object is 3/4" thick and approximately 3.5" across and round. I have to hollow out most of the inside. I have made these turkey pot calls on my lathe but am looking for something a little more automated. I would like to keep the cost down and will probably use my colt trim router in this or something similar. Speed isn't too big of an issue...

I know some will probably say to buy a big commercial unit but remember this decision assumes all I will ever use this machine for is these little pots.
    David

the two with the best support forums

the two with the best support forums are CAMaster and Shopbot. I have a CAMaster Stinger I and for the size 25" X 36" workspace it to me seemed to be the best buy for your buck, Its put together comes, welded steel frames, with a computer and software does everything I need. Buy one of the top brands and you should be ok. Several people have bought chinese ones and they worked, others say they make a good boat anchor so 50, 50 on those I guess.
    Pick your price you want to spend and see what is in the price range then wait, save a little more and get a better one. I have only had my Stinger so it is all I know about.

Dana

if it is to have a long term use, expansion and resale value then give the camaster stinger 1 a good look,

The Shopbot desktop is also a good unit. It also comes put together and is very accurate.

Really I wanted to keep this purchase at $4,000 or preferably less. And I don't want to build it myself. Thanks for the replies so far.

Then try a shark from Rockler.