Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Frusterated and discouraged

Frusterated and discouraged

O.k...so I'm new to this. I make no bones about it, there's a LOT of things I don't know when it comes to woodworking and "traditional" woodworking in particular. The vast majority of my learning has come from books and my experience thus far has been with home renovations, a couple of fireplace mantels, some built its, etc. Oh, and I'm completely self taught. I don't profess to be an expert by any means as this is very definitely a hobby for me and is about as far removed from my regular job as you can get. I'm firmly in the beginner, newbie, pain in the a$$ camp for stupid questions and a complete lack of experience...that being said, I read a huge amount from books, blogs and basically anywhere I can further my knowledge. I'm slowly putting together my hand tool kit and have been looking hard at building a bench. The bench I've almost made up my mind on is a fairly modest project and I've been advised that it is completely within the scope of a beginner to build. So today I stop at a local lumber yard in order to start getting an idea of the price and availability of the lumber I'll require. I start to describe to one of the guys what I'm looking for in a slab and that I also realize that laminating DF may be my best option for the bench top as I live in northern British Columbia. Well, without going into the gory details, I was told, in no uncertain terms, that NOBODY builds a bench using solid slabs of wood any longer. When I asked why this was the case, I was told that the moisture content if far too high and that the top would never be stable enough. I told the fellow that I've been doing a fair bit of research and that many woodworkers are using hard maple, beech, etc for their benches. This earned me a look that said that I was completely "out to lunch". I then asked about using DF in order to laminate a top and was shown DF at the low, low price of $12.00 a board fo