Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My Father's workbench.

My Father's workbench.

This weekend I was honored to bring my Father's workbench into my shop. My Dad is 87 years old, and he and my Mom are moving into a townhouse complex for age 55 and over residents. He has had this workbench for 50+ years, and told me that he wanted me to have it someday when he was done with it. Well, that time was Saturday and my strong and faithful best friend Scott helped me move it in. It is REALLY heavy, and built like a tank. I can remember as a little boy looking through all Dad's tools in the drawers, and being amazed at watching my Father work with them. He was a pipefitter by trade, and we built some amazing things on this old bench. I can still recognize the same tools and packages of hardware that were in the drawers back then today! My Father taught me every good and noble thing that I've learned in life, and his loving guidance brought me to where I am today.

Yes, it's an honor to have your Father's workbench and tools, and having it so close will always keep that part of him near me. Sorry for rambling, but you folks probably understand this better than anyone else! Here's a picture of it:
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Tom Pritchard; 04-27-2005 at 9:32 PM.
    "Be true to your work, your word, and your friend." -Henry David Thoreau

Yup, looks like it's good for another 50 years! Use it in good health and pass it on. It's a treasure.

The workbench and storage look as serviceable now as when built. I'm sure there are a lot of memories that go with the bench and also need to be passed down. Make sure you can share its new home with your Dad if only in pictures and showing it being put to use. It will give him so much joy.

I regret that my Dad did not have a workbench to pass on, but there were lots of memories.

Quote Originally Posted by Thomas Canfield