Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wolverine grinding jig attachments

Wolverine grinding jig attachments

I am new to turning. I will be ordering a new Woodcraft grinder soon. I will also get the Wolverine grinding jig . Are there any attachments I should get ? I will be turning pens to start, then "graduate" to spindles and small bowls. I only have a few Benjamin's Best chisels (3 piece pen turning set) to start with. Thanks for your help.

Dick

This was recommended to me also:
    http://www.woodcraft.com/product/200...nding-jig.aspx

Get the first one, not the later model. I use it continually for my bowl and spindle gouges.
    Veni Vidi Vendi Vente! I came, I saw, I bought a large coffee!

Brian's link appears to be a knock off of the original Vari-Grind jig, shown here - http://www.amazon.com/Oneway-Manufac.../dp/B000CSSIOK

They look identical, so your choice. Brian is correct in that most folks prefer the original version to the newer Vari-Grind 2.

Brian is correct that for a fingernail grind you will want the jig above. Keep in mind that if you are just doing pens right now, you don't need anything but a spindle gauge with a standard grind. That can be done WITHOUT the above jig. Now once you move past pens and into bowls, the spindle gouge (and it's grind) is dangerous. A standard spindle gouge has a flat tang (where it meets the handle) and the bowl gouge is a solid round tang. For work into bowls, there can be a lot of force against the tang and you dont' EVER want the tang to snap during the hollowing of a bowl (trust me, I know).

The only other thing I highly recommend is a diamond wheel dresser. You will need to "dress" the wheels before you ever touch the steel to it and then every so often to keep the surface flat and clean.

Have fun, be safe.
    -------
    No, it's not thin enough yet.
    -------

John is right. I had intended to link to the original vari-grind jig.