Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: A word about hearing protection.

A word about hearing protection.

Friends, please take this seriously!

I have tinnitus (ringing in the ears), caused by high frequency hearing loss. Most likely, my hearing loss was caused by running power tools without adequate hearing protection. I'd wear ear muffs for my larger woodworking machines (table saw, planer, routers, etc.), but I didn't bother wearing them for smaller tools like power drills, nail guns, etc. Big mistake!!

I will have tinnitus forever. It's a 24-hour loud, high-pitched, screaming nightmare. There is no cure, and the saddest part is that I could've prevented it!

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE protect your ears!

Yours in sawdust,

- Jason White
    Last edited by Jason White; 03-19-2013 at 8:11 PM.

Jason
    I don,t have to worry about high frequency hearing loss, that happened many years ago when I was an USAF Marksmanship Instructor. You are correct, it can be prevented with proper hearing protection. Most of us learn after it's to late.

I'm with you guys. Started loosing hearing back when I thought I was bullet proof and didn't wear hearing protection while working in the engine room of the ship I was stationed on.

I get a hearing test every year at work and I've noticed the ringing is right at some frequencies during the test. It's almost like the ringing cancels out the test frequency and I can't hear it until it almost hurts.

I was involved with a interesting thread here at the Creek a couple of years ago. A young poster laughed when I offered to send him free of charge different types of hearing protection to try. Claimed he didn't need them or safety glasses, always wondered how or what he's doing.

Yes it's preventable if you take the precautions but like Jim said, most of learn after it's too late.

Jerry
    Confidence: The feeling you experience before you fully understand the situation