Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I add a wall to enclose garage shop?

Post Should I add a wall to enclose garage shop?

I am looking for advice (pros and cons) and the experience of others as to whether I should add a wall in my garage to enclose my "workshop". Here is a little background/description:

I have a 3-car garage. Currently, one car and one motorcycle "live" in the garage. I have recently gotten much more serious with woodworking (though I am still a relative beginner). I've kind of devoted the 3rd car bay as my workshop. As it has kind of evolved, I began thinking about walling off that area to create a true workshop and not just an area of the garage. The resulting space would be about 10' x 19' and would have a garage door at the end and I would install a double sized door in the proposed wall.

The plusses:
    Dedicated area
    Better dust control (at least off other stuff in the garage)
    An additional wall for cabinets, shelves, outlets, etc
    Ability to heat better in winter and maybe cool better in summer

Concerns:
    Is this space (10' x 19') too small?
    Will I feel closed in?
    Will this too severely limit my flexibility (i.e., currently I can move car and scooter out if I temporarily need the space)?

Current and future tools (all on mobile bases)
    Grizzly cabinet saw
    17" Drill Press (floor model)
    14" Rikon bandsaw
    30" x 80" workbench / assembly table
    12" compound sliding miter saw on dedicated stand
    Router table (future)
    Possibly a dual-tool flip stand with planer and spindle sander (future)

Uses:
    Small furniture projects
    Some cabinetry

All thoughts, advice, and suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Mark

telling you what to do is not so simply, do you have the property for a separate building/ workshop ? are your drive-way big enough to park the cars