Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My CRP4848 Build

My CRP4848 Build

OK, I decided to do a build thread here as well on the Zone. I figure I have been here at SMC WAAAAY longer than I have been on the Zone and not everyone goes over there!

I have ordered and am assembling a CNC Router Parts CRP4848 machine. I decided to build my own base out of wood instead of using their steel legs since I wanted more weight and read that a lot of folks prefer wood for its dampening abilities. Being that I was a custom home builder for 18 years, I have a lot of experience with LVL (laminate veneer lumber) and know how strong and stable it is so I choose that for my material. I started with 1.75" x 14" LVLs and jointed and planed them to get them straight and smooth. I then ripped them in half, roughly 6.75" once dressed. The legs are 3 pieces glued up to make a roughly 5"x5". I am only making the top of the base 28" off the floor since I work primarily with acrylic and saw no reason to make it any higher and have to lift that heavy stuff further! I hope I am not making a mistake at this height!

Anyway, here are some pics of my progress thus far:

Day one:

LVL leg glue up
    legglueup.jpg

A pile of legs ready to go!
    Legs.jpg

Base frame glued, nailed, and squared up
    Base1.jpg

Legs installed and another set of LVL's inside. I know I do not need them for strength since LVLs are plenty strong but I wanted them to lock in the legs and provide extra weight. The clamp goes to some waste block I screws on to the outside to precisely true it up square. By tightening or loosening the clamp just a little, I can change the squareness.
    Corner.jpg

Results at the end of day 1
    Day1.jpg
    Curtis O. Seebeck
    Need Cactus Juice?

Day 2

Here are the pics from day 2. I went to Lowes to try to find leg levelers but they only had cheap ones for furniture so I decided to make my own.