Thread: new office reception sign

new office reception sign

Hello all....I am new to the sign making arena and looking for some direction or advice for a new reception area sign for a company that I have previously made some cabinets for. (I have a cabinet shop). I am expecting my new cnc router within the next few weeks and hopefully plan on using that for the letters for this sign. Here is the request I got from the company, "I think it could be out out of solid wood so the corners are better, but you will let me know. Letters would be painted satin black and mounted with pins on our slightly curved wall behind the front desk. I'm also getting a transparent plexiglass with the light blue gradient painted on a film and attached to the back of the circle. This plexiglass circle will have to be attached to the back or the first "A" and to the wall with pins from the letter. The pins should be long enough to cover for the slight curve of the wall. I hope you are picturing what I'm explaining here. The result must be a pin mounted logo a bit off the wall. " So these would be individual letters cut out and mounted individually to a slightly curved sheetrock wall. The larger letters would be 3/4 thick and the smaller 1/2 inch thick. First of all should I be using a different material for the letters and secondly can I cut these out with sharp inside corners on my cnc router. thanks and please keep in mind that I am a complete novice.Brian