Thread: An idea about hollowing and wall thickness

An idea about hollowing and wall thickness

I’m new to turning and have yet to turn a hollow form. Maybe this idea has already been considered and rejected. Recent threads involving hollowing tools along with the concern for wall thickness got me thinking. I’ve seen the laser systems in the catalogs, but thought there must be a simpler way.

<o =""></o>My goal was to come up with a simple mechanical way to determine the wall thickness while hollowing. My first idea was a set of dual ended calipers as a cutting tool. Too bulky. Then I came up with the tool in the attached drawing. It simply follows the outside of the form (it will need a spring at the pivot) and indicates the wall thickness by how far the pink bar extends beyond the blue bar. I can think of several problems, marks on the outside of the form and the potential for a catch on the outside. But all of that can be dealt with by proper design and/or a little sanding.<o =""> The design assumes a captive tool rest system.

</o> So why don’t I see this in catalogs? Or, put another way, what's wrong with this idea?

<o =""></o>---Scott.

<o =""></o>P.S. I’ve added the copyright only because if this is a new idea and someone decides to build and market it, I want my cut.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Scott, I am always open to new ideas, and as far as I can see this is a good one. I would have to see it in operation to find out if it would be practical, but on a first look I would say very inventive and it shows creative thinking. Good show old chap! Hope you make some money out of this.
    Glenn Hodges
    Nashville, Georgia

"Would you believe the only time I ever make mistakes is when someone is watching?"