Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Personalized hearing protection??

Personalized hearing protection??

I'm thinking about getting the audiologist to make me some ear plugs that fit my ear canals. Anyone done and care to comment on how effective they are as compared to the commercial generic, fit-alls you buy? They aren't cheap, but if they work better, then, I'm willing to pay the price. Thanks Lewis

While I was a radio operator in the military I had a pair of custom fit ear plugs made that I could connect to my radios. They did a great job as hearing protection but they became very uncomfortable after just an hour.

The most comfortable and effective ear plugs I've ever used are the yellow foamies.

I've tried lots of different one-size-fits-all versions over the years. I also tried the custom-molded kind twice. The custom-molded kind were pricey (maybe $60?), but didn't seem to work better than the better one-size-fits-all. They eventually fall apart -- maybe in a year. Right now, the best one-size-fits-all for me looks like these -- http://www.emedco.com/e-a-r-ultrafit...FS9dQgodmSYA4A Those triple flanges seem to be the design key. I used to have to buy them by mail, but a couple years ago Home Depot started carrying them. They're about three bucks. They last perhaps four months of daily use.

I have a set of custom-poured/fitted ear plugs used for shooting protection. They are over 10 years old and good as new. They provide far more protection than the foamies. I just wash them in soapy water every few months. They fit so well I don't even realize when they are in my ears. DO IT! Philip
    Philip

I'm going to have to disagree on this one. I wore molded custom earpieces made for concert musicians for about a decade while doing an extensive amount of flying.

My present hearing aids will testify to them not providing sufficient protection.