Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need a Sharpening System Recommendation

Need a Sharpening System Recommendation

Hi All, I am new to SMC and was looking for some opinions. I'm also just getting into hand tools and am about to make the big sharpening system decision and was looking for some input past some of the other things I've been seeing. The basics of what I have read so far are (please feel free to correct any misconceptions I have on these points):

Oilstones:
    Last a very long time, most likely longer than my lifetime given that I'm not woodworking every day (in fact not even every weekend).
    They cut slowly, so its best to use them with something else for grinding, then hone and polish with the oils.
    Moderate mess, between water and Scary Sharp (I don't really have a feel for this or even how to quantify it.
    Cheapest system over a lifetime.
    Oils your tools as you sharpening so it could help prevent rusting

Waterstones:
    Must be flattened after every use.
    Cut very quickly
    Messiest of the three with most people sharpening near a sink to deal with the water mess.
    Medium price over a life time, even though some of the stones can be pricey to get started.
    Care must be taken to thoroughly wipe down tools after you are finished to prevent rusting

Scary Sharp:
    Float glass never needs flattening
    Can cut quickly, if you use a low enough grit.
    Cleanest of the three systems, however, mess is more harmful as the metal particles can easily be inhaled.
    Low cost to get started, however highest cost over a lifetime due to constant abrasive replacement.

So, those are the datapoints I have so far, I'm wondering if members could provide any added detail that may help me make a final decision. I know you can get a decent edge with any of the three, it just takes practice and I'd like to spend my practice time with the system I think will work best for my long term.