Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What size breaker and wire for a 220v 18 amp motor

What size breaker and wire for a 220v 18 amp motor

I am installing a table saw that has a 220v, 18 amp motor. Does that mean that the motor draws 9 amps from each of the two hot wires? If so, then should I be able to use a double pole 20amp breaker and 14/3 wire since 14 gauge wire is sufficient for up to 15 amps.

This new circuit will have no other equipment.

This circuit should be 12/2 wire and 2 pole 20A breaker. There are no allowable circumstances for 20A breaker to be used with 14 gauge wire.

My table saw has a 220 18A motor as well. I decided to use 10 gage wire and a 30A breaker. I'm not an electrician, but the code called for no more than 80% load through a circuit, which on a 20A circuit would be 16A.

My suggestion is to go with David's advice... The extra price of the 10ga wire and 30amp breaker is minimal.. Then you will always have plenty of power when you need it down the road... I just went through this and put in 4 separate 220V 30amp circuits and am glad I did.. welders can be plugged in anyplace now too... And no, 14ga won't cut it..

Your initial assumption that each hot leg carries 9 amps is wrong. The two legs are connected to each other through the windings of the motor and both carry the same 18A. It is difficult to understand what is going on unless you have a fundamental understanding of AC power. 12 AWG wire is rated for 20A and is perfectly acceptible so long as the wire length isn't too long. Having said that, I would probably run 10 AWG anyway just to keep line losses low.

Quote Originally Posted by Art Mann View Post