Thread: Bathroom vanity finish inquiry

Bathroom vanity finish inquiry

Greetings wood pros!

I'm new to wood working and am about to embark on a big project. Here is the slab I bought:

http://www.berkshireproducts.com/inv...lg.php?id=2743

Can anyone suggest the best method to finish this piece? Since it will be a bathroom counter, I know it needs to be durable. But I prefer a more natural finish rather than high gloss/plastic looking. Also, what is the best way to handle the bumpy patches on the live edge since they can't be sanded?

Finally, what kind of attention do I need to give the underside of the slab?

Thanks!

Cathi in Tampa

I finished a bar top of a 14' English Elm slab from Berkshire Products. They have great inventory - often too hard to decide.

The finish in that case and I think could be for your bath too, was Waterlox Original sealer finish. Will take 5 or 6 coats to do it properly. I brush it on liberally and allow 24 hours to dry between coats and 48 hours if I choose to lightly sand between coats. Others here on the Creek are very happy applying Waterlox as thin wipe on coats. They can tell you about that. It is an excellent finish and will easily stand up to use as a bath counter.

I assume you will be mounting a vessel sink and not trying to undermount or flush mount. Those latter options would require additional edge care when finishing.