Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Making small square holes

Making small square holes

It seems like everything I try to do by hand recently is a first time for me.

For a pair of end tables I'm making, I need to attach 4 1/2" x 1/2" uprights between 2 rails along with a 1/2" x 2" in the center. The are not structural components but I don't want them spinning or coming loose. I'm going to use a 1/4" mortise & tenon 1/2" deep for the 2" center upright. I'm pretty new at cutting mortises by hand and I'm using standard chisels to the the work. I'm confident I can cut the center joint, but the 1/4" x 1/4" x 1/2" hole for the small ones is trickier.

I've thought about drilling 1/4" hole and trying to square the corners with a chisel. I only have 1/8" shoulders, so they have to be precise and I need to make 32 of them. I do have a 1/8" chisel, if that helps but I figured a clean cut with a 1/4" would be the way to go.

Any tips or suggestions?
    -- Dan Rode

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit." - Aristotle

I'm not sure I understand exactly what you're trying to do, but to get the hole square, Lee Valley has some square punches that may be of value to you. See here.

Mike
    Go into the world and do well. But more importantly, go into the world and do good.

I'd drill them then make them square with your ¼"
    Last edited by Judson Green; 02-03-2014 at 11:32 AM.

I'm installing uprights on a set of mission style end tables. 1/2" x 1/2" x 11" uprights / pickets with, probably attacked with 1/4" x 1/4" x 1/2" deep M&T joints.

Those are interesting. The look a lot like the bits from a mortising machine and work a bit like them as well. $30 each is steep for me, tho.

Quote Originally Posted by Mike Henderson View Post
    I'm not sure I understand exactly what you're trying to do, but to get the hole square, Lee Valley has some square punches that may be of value to you. See here.
    Mike