Thread: Framed Slab Doors

Framed Slab Doors

I am a relatively new woodworker that is tossing about ideas on how to make kitchen cabinet doors. I have made raised panel doors in the past. My thinking is that I want the ones in the kitchen to be maple, frameless, full overlay and flat.

This brings me to slab doors. Now I know that wood expands and contracts. I have read that slabs can have warping issues if not down correctly.

I would like to know opinions on making flat panel doors that are essentially floating slabs sitting in a frame. Only the frame gets glued. When constructed, the appearance is that of a flat door. Is there any benefit to doing this regarding expansion/warping vs. a slab?

Ed.

I would go with veneered MDF doors.

Quote Originally Posted by George Gyulatyan View Post
    I would go with veneered MDF doors.
    I would like to use wood if I can. The sound of it is preferred.

The idea I have is to use a floating slab (panel) like you see attached- mitered or cope & stick. Question is whether this would provide any advantage to just a slab? Only the frame gets glued and everything is at the same depth.

Ed.
    Attached Images Attached Images

The wood is going to either expand or contract so you'll only have the slab when it's completely expanded (If you build it when expansion is at its greatest). When it contracts, there will be a reveal around the sides but not the top as wood moves side to side for the most part. If you wanted to do it that way, then use plywood in lieu of a solid wood panel and you can glue it all the way around to make a rock solid slab, albeit with the grain running in different directions.

If you want to make a slab door, use 3" or 4" pieces of wood and alternate the growth rings to avoid major cupping.