Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Your Suggestion on CNC Machine

Your Suggestion on CNC Machine

I like to first introduce my self my name is Junior i am a dog trainer here in North Carolina due to the economy its hard to make a penny. I was first looking at laser etching machines but after speaking with Mr Keith the owner of Saw mill creek he easily convinced me to get a cnc machine wow is all i can say thank you Mr Keith

My next guestion is what would those that have a CNC machine recommend for to start out with. I am wanting some thing a decent size as to not later have to purchase some thing bigger. I am wanting to do etching on mirrors, wood , drinking glasses ( mugs / circle objects ) and regular glass along, with plexiglass.

If those have a recommendation will you please post the web site thanks

Junior, you will find that folks have their own preferences. Mine is ShopBot. I have two of them and am very happy both with the machines and the support. I don't know where in NC you are, but ShopBot is located in Durham. It might pay you to drop by and visit with them. I'm sure you could learn a lot more about CNC's, whether you decide to go with that company or not.
    Live Oak Forge
    40W Epilog Mini 18
    Shopbot 32"x24"x6" PRT
    Shopbot 48"x48"x6" PRS
    Next Engine Scanner
    Artcam
    CorelDRAW X5
    Multiple and various other implements of destruction

Hi Bill Munroe thanks i am in Greensboro NC Durham is not that far from me about 1 hour away if that depending on traffic. Thanks i will take a look at ShopBot

Junior, what is your budget? Turn-key CNC's run from fairly inexpensive (relatively speaking) lightweight hobby machines to very expensive commercial grade machines. From your glass etching descriptions it sounds like a laser might be better suited to your needs.
    Please help support the Creek.

"It's paradoxical that the idea of living a long life appeals to everyone, but the idea of getting old doesn't appeal to anyone."