Thread: Old Plane made in the USSR

Old Plane made in the USSR

Hi everyone, I am new to this site and this is my first attempt at a post. I found an old plane amonst my father's belongings when cleaning up our old home. Woodworking was not one of my dad's talents. I guess he bought the plane to do something, did not know how to use it and put it away. My dad passed away 16 years ago. I am curious as to whether this plane is any good and worth spending the time to get it in good working order. the instructions are in what I think is Russian. Pics attached. USSR is in raised letters on the front of the assembly. Curious as to what your thoughts are.

Edit: zip file removed.
    Bruce
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Bruce Page; 03-30-2014 at 12:58 PM. Reason: Added pictures

No reason that I can see this could not be a perfectly good user. Just a little attention needed. If is has not been used too much, it may be not need more than a de-rust and a tune-up.

I love obscure planes like this, but then I am a self-confessed tool addict.
    Last edited by Richard Krushner; 03-30-2014 at 2:53 PM.
    http://wudumann.blogspot.co.uk​

Blog Entries
    Howdy Bruce and welcome to the Creek.

In my opinion you should give it a sharpen and see how it does. Often non-woodworking folks would have a sticking door that needed a little work. Off to the hardware store to buy the least expensive solution. A few rough passes of their new plane would take care of the problem and then the plane goes back in the box and has a permanent resting spot on a shelf out in the shed.

Are you familiar with woodworkforums.com ?

I visit there at times.

jtk
    Last edited by Bruce Page; 03-30-2014 at 2:18 PM. Reason: Removed active forum link.
    "A pessimist sees the difficulty in every opportunity; an optimist sees the opportunity in every difficulty."
    - Sir Winston Churchill (1874-1965)

Blog Entries