Thread: Hand Planer and Scrapers

Hand Planer and Scrapers

I am looking to purchase some hand planes and scrapers. I am new to the hand plane tools. What are good hand planes that are decently priced.

Planes -- Lie Nielsen or Veritas

Come on over to the Neanderthal section.

It's all about planes, and chisels, and saws, and...

There's reasonably priced, and there's useable - those things tend to be mutually exclusive.

Quote Originally Posted by Gary Petit View Post
    I am looking to purchase some hand planes and scrapers. I am new to the hand plane tools. What are good hand planes that are decently priced.
    If you become a Contributor for $6.00 you can shop on the Creek. Tom

Quote Originally Posted by Ellen Benkin View Post
    These are super nice planes but will cost you a good few bucks. I'm in the same boat as you. I just started using hand planes a few months ago. I now have a Stanley no5, no name no4 and siegley no7. That stanley only cost me $32 which included shipping. You can find them on ebay, craigslist or your local flea markets. With about an hour of work, you can get them decently sharp and good enough to start practicing.

Now if you have the money, Lie Nielsen and Vertis are very nice planes that are just about ready to go out of the box.

While I love my Lie Nielsens I agree with Kevin, once you have fettled your flea market planes they can do a very nice job.

Although I will say I love the Lie Nielsen card scrapers and they don't break the bank. I have had the best luck getting an edge on these that I had a hard time getting on other brands.

-Alden

Quote Originally Posted by Kevin Wolfe View Post