Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A tale of two totes...

A tale of two totes...

Hi, all -

I picked up an Atkins 10" back saw about 11 years ago. Had it filed by Tom Law at the time, 14 PPI rip, mainly for dovetailing. I was a complete newb (arguably still am), and didn't like the tote, so I made a new one. The original seemed small (it wasn't) and had broken horns. I made a new, open tote out of cherry, increased the size a bit:

Atkins 10" Backsaw... by Scott --, on Flickr

I spent a lot of time trying to cut dovetails. I never seemed to gel with the saw, regardless of how much I wanted to like it. Always seemed to bind, and the cut seemed rough. I set the saw aside and stalled in my sawing learning curve.

Well, I'm in saw mode again. Picked up a Richardson Bros. 8" saw last year that's now filed 18 PPI rip. It's fantastic. Also picked up a 10" Richardson I'm rehabbing. It needs a new tote. Thought that, as a test drive on my tote skills (which have been dormant for all these years), I'd repair the original tote on the Atkins, and maybe see if the saw performed any better.

Now, horn repair isn't anything new to anyone here so I'll spare all the gore. Seemed like the original wood was beech; I ended up gluing on some 6/4 maple, bandsawed the rough shape of the horns, and shaped with rasps. Stained the maple with some strong tea to bring it close to the beech, then dyed the whole thing with TransTnit. Lacquered, rubbed out, and ended up like this:

Atkins back saw tote rehab by Scott --, on Flickr