Thread: Are the effects of rust on machines over exaggerated?

Are the effects of rust on machines over exaggerated?

I know that it's obviously not a good thing to have rust on your machines, and I do my best to keep mine from rusting. But when you bring up keeping your machines in a barn shop or something, people act like you are putting machines to their death. The humidity will probably create surface rust on the iron surfaces, but with routine maintenance, that should be kept to a minimum. And I think they're less common now, but I think barn shops are fairly common. Even if the machine surface does develop heavy rust, the only major issue I would see is losing the ability to smoothly pass through material.

I'm no expert, I may sound stupid, but I'm wondering if barn shops or any non insulated shops are really as bad for your machines as some say.

I haven't found it to be too bad. It takes neglect to actually pit the iron. Other than that, flash rust creates a rough surface that needs to be cleaned off and that's about it. I had a shop in the coastal mountains for awhile and my table saw and jointer were semi-exposed. I used breathable machine covers and tarps and things like that. When it rained the machines would still get a bit of rust but I'd just clean it off and get back to work.

In my experience, moisture/condensation is much more of an issue for electrics than it is for cast iron or steel. At least from a functional persective.

Erik Loza
    Minimax USA

To put it into perspective.. Take a look at and of the Old Tools forums where people are pulling 80 year old cast iron monsters out of the back field with weeds growing around them and they seem to be able to restore the machines back to perfect health. Keeping a too in a barn is nothing compared to leaving it outside in a field for 40+ years.

Blog Entries

Rust example

I am going disagree here. Near the ocean rust develops very quickly and seriously damages the metal.

image.jpg