Thread: Cypress and Epifanes

Cypress and Epifanes

I'll start by saying that I'm a complete beginner when it comes to finishing. I am building some Cypress Adirondack chairs for a customer and they requested a finish. They are being made out of Cypress and will sit on a concrete patio and be in the shade for most of the day. I've read some very good reviews of Epifanes, and thought I'd give it a try. My first question is whether Cypress will have any issues handling the marine varnish? Their directions suggest using the Epifanes thinner, but will regular mineral spirits be okay? Is there something better?

My other questions are related to general finishing. Do I need to pre-sand all of the unseen surfaces to the same level as the seen surfaces before finishing? Do I need to apply as many coats to the unseen surfaces?

Thanks!
    Blood, sweat, and sawdust

Epifanes Marine Varnish is the best exterior varnish I've ever used, by far. I've never used it on Cypress, but see no reason it shouldn't work well with it. I use mineral spirits with it with no problems. How far you sand the unseen surfaces is up to you, but I would sand them until they are smooth enough so that the varnish will form a uniform film over it - no rough spots that could leave a hole in the finish. And, yes, IMO you need to apply the same number of coats to all surfaces - 7 according to directions on the Epifanes can.

John