Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My first hand planes

My first hand planes

Hi to all woodworkers. Im new in this forumand im also a newbie in woodworking with only 4 months experience. It all began when i wanted to buy a chessboard for my granddad but i couldnt aford it so i started to make once. With painting on wood and were looking realy ugly. Finaly with some help of a woodworker i managed to make decent chessboard from walnut and pine (i know, could have found better wood for the whites ) But the point is from that point my life turned on 360 (well maybe 350). I forgot about everything else and got adicted with woodworking, and started to learn mostly from the internet. Because i couldnt aford electric tools (atable saw, band saw etc.) and also if i could i wouldnt or cant use them cz they are loud and im panicing while near them.So i was workign with the hand tools i had.. All i had from start were one handplane from my grand grand grand dad who knows how old it is, and a mortise chisel . I managed to fix the plane but it was to small with 3 cm blade and 22 cm long So i wanted a bigger plane but couldnt aford, Because in my country u cant find hand planes and you cant order from internet,we dont have paypal and i wanted a handplane so badly, so started planing to make one. I was watching youtube videos about krenov style planes and watched david flinck dvd. Went to a woodworker and he gave me 4 pieces of acacia black locust or mulberry, said glue them up and come ill cut them for u. But he said its better to do it with carving if u can. I glue 2 pieces together, but that day i couldnt wait a second, i took some pieces of oak that my granddad is using for burning, i took my axe and started cutting the sides of one of them wich was 26 cm long, about right for a smoothing plane size. So to get the story short ill post some images of how i made my handplanes. For the first plane i didnt made pics of the proces, wasnt shure what ill come up with.