Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Hooking shopvac to TableSaw for DC?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    KC, MO
    Posts
    2,038

    Hooking shopvac to TableSaw for DC?

    Just curious how many of you use this type of DC instead of full blown system..

    I have a Fein vacuum that I attach to the BS port...but was looking at a new TS so needed some input.

    How well does it work? Any tricks & tips.........??

    Thanks all!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Colfax, Iowa
    Posts
    126

    Well yes sort of?

    I am using a Royobi BT3100 and use my shop vac since the port is 2.5".
    It definately helps, with the shrouded blade it will throw dust clear across the shop w/o. If you have a full blown saw, while it would help it may not work as well? I definately need a blade guard with collection topside as well.

  3. #3
    I'm using a plain ol' Shop Vac brand vaccuum attached to the dust shroud underneath my Ridgid TS3650, and it does a pretty respectable job of keeping sawdust off the floor. I still get some on the table, and a bit of blow-by onto the floor, but it's way better than nothing.

    - Vaughn

  4. #4
    I don't know what kind of saw you have and if attaching a shop vac would provide efficient dust collection but I used my Festool vac along with mobile table saws (Elektra Beckum and Festool) and was basically satisfied with the result. Of courese, the efficiency also depends on "external" factors, for example, dust will be blown around the whole shop when the saw blade isn't covered by wood.
    If you use your saw extensively, it might be helpful to install a cyclone system combined with the vac.

    Hope this helps,

    Christian
    "On Wednesday, when the sky is blue,
    And I have nothing else to do,
    I sometimes wonder if it's true
    That who is what and what is who."


    (A.A. Milne, Winnie the Pooh)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    carmel ny.
    Posts
    77
    Hi:

    I have a dewalt 746x table saw with a shop vac and the 2" vac hose connected to the saw.
    I only use that shop vac on the table saw and I use a zero clearance throat plate, the saw dust is minimal.
    I use the big collector on the other machines.
    Start square and you will finish square

  6. #6
    I've got a Jet contractor type saw mounted on a homemade cart with a V-shaped dust chute and port. I use my shop vac to contain the dust and it does a fair job. Sealing up the back of the saw would make it more effective.

  7. #7
    I have a tablesaw & Fein vacuum set up.

    Its not dust free, but its a lot less dusty than when I forget to turn on the vacuum.

    --
    John Cavanaugh

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    KC, MO
    Posts
    2,038
    Thanks for the replies all.........

    I plan on getting a contractor .....maybe a cabinet.......with enclosed chute that has a 4" vent system. I realize the Fein/shopvac isn't the best setup-- but sounds like its fairly adequate and certainly better than nothing..

    I noticed that a cabinet saw hooked up to dedicated DC really keeps a clean top...pulls it all down very nicely..cetainly the top way to go

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Cape Cod, Ma
    Posts
    762
    Roy,

    ai'm running a Ridgid shop vac on my TS3650 and it does a pretty good job.

    Lou
    Procrastination.......

    Maybe I'll think about that tomorrow

  10. #10
    I have a PowerMatic 64A Contractor saw. I enclosed the top half of the stand on all four sides, and framed in the original 4" plastic dust port for the bottom. I made a stopper plug for the dust port, and let the sawdust fall into the box. About 90% of the dust is collected. There's an access door on the side to clean out the box. It really works good! Well worth the time and effort. If necessary, I can remove to thumb screws and remove the back to tilt the blade. See my web page for more pictures.

    -Don



  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    KC, MO
    Posts
    2,038
    Nice pics Don.........so you can use a vacuum or just let it collect a little and then clean later.........?

    Nice work!

  12. #12
    so you can use a vacuum or just let it collect a little and then clean later.........?
    I don't use a vacuum, just empty the box as needed. There are other ways to enclose a contractror saw: Bags for the area behind the motor, and bags for under the saw.

    -Don

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Don Stanley
    See my web page for more pictures.

    -Don
    Don,

    You are killing me here. My todo list is already way too big. Now I have to find time to build your excellent project for my Dewalt tablesaw...

    --
    John Cavanaugh

Similar Threads

  1. Craftsman 1 3/4 hp. Tablesaw
    By Bob Weisner in forum General Woodworking and Power Tools
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-31-2004, 7:44 PM
  2. Suggestions for new tablesaw guard for sears craftsman 10 inch tablesaw
    By Bob Weisner in forum General Woodworking and Power Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-01-2004, 9:33 AM
  3. Anybody got the JET sliding tablesaw?
    By Kirk (KC) Constable in forum General Woodworking and Power Tools
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-01-2003, 8:38 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •