Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which plane to buy next

Which plane to buy next

Hello All,

I am just getting into woodworking so it has been easy to decide on a hybrid approach as I really don't own any major machinery yet. I am thinking about getting a good bandsaw for dimensioning and skipping the table saw entirely. My question revolves around what would give me best value as their is so many tools to buy when getting started. I have LV's BU Jointer and Jack with 25 and 50 degree irons. So far I love the both of them but the Jack is a bit unwieldy for small work. I am deciding between a block plane or the BU Smoother. The smoother comes with the 38 degree iron so would fill a gap I have for irons right now. But is there anything it can do better than the Jack as far as final finishing? Granted it might be more comfortable but if I can get by for a while with the Jack doing smoothing duty then I think the block plane might be more handy. What do you guys think? And would LV's low angle block plane be the one to get?

thanks for the help, much appreciated!

LV BU Jointer and LAJ? Almost there I would say a smoother or block plane. My first plane was a block plane. Still own it.
    Back to your question.... What do you want to do next? Is it to complement your current planes or some work that is needed?

To complete the set get the LV BU Smoother. If small work the LV Low Angle Block plane with all the blade configuration with tote and knob. There are many other planes to get after this BUT it depends on your work.

I believe the block plane was my first purchase. It gets used all the time. Chamfering, end grain, quick this and that. I have been surprised how often I reach for it.
    “Courage is being scared to death - but saddling up anyway”
    - John Wayne (1907-1979)

Blog Entries
    Howdy Wayne,