Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help: Concrete front steps - pouring

Help: Concrete front steps - pouring

My front steps have deteriorated and they need to be replaced. Quotes are coming in about $1600. They're deteriorating after a rough winter and I might actually be able to get most of it out with just a sledge hammer, but I could always just rent a jackhammer and get them out like that. Then I'd like to pour new ones. I've never done a larger pour before. I haven't accurately measured but the steps are probably a little more than 1/2 yard of concrete....just guestimating, maybe .7 yards or something like that. Let's just call it a yard for sake of argument.

I think the largest sized mixer I can rent is about 9 cubic feet, so I'd need to mix at least 2 loads to get enough concrete. Can I mix, pour, mix, pour, or do I have to mix and pour in one shot? If I need to do it in one shot and have it delivered, is it economical to have less than a yard delivered? There's no truck access so they'll either have to run a trough or we'll be wheelbarrowing and shoveling a lot of concrete.

Any help is most appreciated.

I've broken up concrete steps once with a sledgehammer. Even when I was young and strong, that was a mistake. Today I'd rent an electric demolition hammer. Power tools are good.

You only need the outer few inches of the new steps to be new concrete. So save the rubble from the old steps to put back inside the new steps. You'll buy and place less concrete, and save on the disposal effort.

Mix and pour, Mix and pour. Work the two batches a little into each other after you pour. The mixing process isn't that slow and you will be fine. It's how then did it before Redi-mix.

Blog Entries
    I've broken concrete with a sledge hammer and with a jackhammer. If the surface below the concrete is at all spongy, use the jackhammer.