Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Crabapple Stump

Crabapple Stump

So I cut down a crabapple tree and I'm going to make a bowl or bowls from the stump.

I have zero experience with this.

I don't have a lathe.

I do have a Dewalt grinder and I will be buying this.

This is a pure learning experience but I hope to end up with something(s) to be proud of.

So my questions surround how to proceed. Work it green? How to protect it, store it, while I'm carving it. How thin can I make the walls? How long after I'm done carving until it is dry enough to finish?

Like I said, this will be a pure learning experience re bowl making but I've got 40 years of woodworking experience under me. One way or another, I'm going to carve out a bowl or two from this stump and if they split, they split. I'm looking to jump onto the learning curve and hold on.

The stump:

It won't let me upload pictures now, I'll try again later.

I give up. It won't let me upload pics after multiple tries.

Definitely green it'll be much easier to cut and less likely to crack. The rule of thumb for turned bowls is around 1" or less of thickness per foot of diameter. For this I'd probably go around the same or maybe a smidge less. It will warp as it dries some - ads character. Try to cut it so you get rid of all of the pith and a chunk of the center of the tree as that's where it's most likely to spilt. The faster you can take it down to final thickness the lure likely it is to crack to bad. If you can do it all in one sitting that would be best. Of probably use a drill to remove the bulk of the wood from the center of you can, that would I think be the fastest way. If you can't finish as piece in one go wrap it in plastic wrap around the outside over the rim and hope for the best and get back to it as soon as you can.