Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Longest lasting bandsaw blade?

Longest lasting bandsaw blade?

I am fairly new to woodworking and have had to replace my bandsaw blade more often than anticipated. I will be working on small projects where I will be cutting oak on my bandsaw and need to know what manufacturer makes the longest lasting blades and if there is any particular type I need to look for. I normally use a 72" x 3/8" blade and will be doing some long gentle arcs in 3/4" thick white oak.

Thanks

Such short blades are usually used on band saws with smaller wheel diameters. This results in breakage.

I solder up my own blades from coil stock. The equipment to do it costs about $40 for a blade holding jig, solder and flux. Good for repairing broken blades too. I buy coil stock on ebay.

Rip-tooth band saw blades can be resharpened by mounting them inverted on the saw and grinding the gullets with a moto-tool held in a simple cradle.

Usually bands that short requires special thin blades, and those can't be home welded.

Your options are few unfortunately. Diemaster lasts about 6 months, then it breaks (the blade is still sharp too)

If you're using a 3 wheeler band saw, blade breakage is a normal thing. I just found out there are manufacturers that specifically make blade for 3 wheeled bandsaw.

One of the problems with some saws use short band is that, due to the small diameter of the wheels, the blades are subjected to greater flexing, hence, blade fatigue/ breakage is likely to happen.

I've used 73 1/2" blades for a LONG time without a break (watch me have one today).
    Correct tension, correct band width and tooth profile goes a long way.
    What tooth count are ya using?
    Bill
    On the other hand, I still have five fingers.

I haven't found 3/8" and wider blades prone to breakage. I break a blade every few months on my INCA 710, which is a 3 wheeler with 10" wheels. The blades are 1/4" wide.