Thread: Laser Engraver

Laser Engraver

I am a hobbyist that makes models using mostly Bass Wood and ABS plastics. I am looking to purchase a laser cutter to cut the wood that I cut by hand or jigsaw today. I have tested the Epilog and Universal lasers. Both would be excellent choices for me and easily cut 1/4 inch Bass wood I tested. I tested the 30w and 50w models. I preferred the 50w model as it cut the 3/8 inch bass wood slightly cleaner.

I always like to buy good quality tools as I look after what I buy and it always lasts me a long time. I am however struggling with the price at $18k for the 50w model I was looking at with an exhaust filter. I looked at other models and saw the Boss that I could purchase a 60w unit for $8k and they have a USA based office. I don't plan to use it a lot as I only do hobby work on Sundays so maybe 200 to 300 hours a year. I don't need speed. I don't need a lot of support and I am usually able to install and setup most types of tools myself.

I work with Corel Draw and Solid Works and like to be efficient, organized and produce quality. After reading most of the threads on this site I get the message I should stay away from Chinese lasers and glass tubes. I understand some of the reasoning but given my limited use is the extra expense worth while.

Thanks for your thoughts.

Kevin

Blog Entries
    If your use is limited, have you considered farming the work out to another laser owner? You're not tied up with machine costs, but you still get a quality output/product.
    Hi-Tec Designs, LLC -- Owner (and self-proclaimed LED guru )

Trotec 80W Speedy 300 laser w/everything
    CAMaster Stinger CNC (25" x 36" x 5")
    USCutter 24" LaserPoint Vinyl Cutter
    Jet JWBS-18QT-3 18", 3HP bandsaw
    Robust Beauty 25"x52" wood lathe w/everything
    Jet BD-920W 9"x20" metal lathe
    Delta 18-900L 18" drill press

Flame Polisher (ooooh, FIRE!)
    Freeware: InkScape, Paint.NET, DoubleCAD XT