Thread: Thoughts on this for hand plane blades?

Thoughts on this for hand plane blades?

Hi Guys,

I am a plant manager for a printing company in Iowa. Today, I was replacing blades in our large gilloutine cutter, and realized one of our blades has now been resharpened so much, that it is too short to use in our cutter. Instead of recycling it, I was thinking of maybe having it waterjet cut down into some hand plane blades. The blade (similar to the picture below) is about 50" long, about 4" from spine to cutting edge, and about 1/2" thick. What are your guy's thoughts on the validity of using them as blades in shop made planes? The steel is high carbon, with an 18% tungsten content.

kutrimmer_paper_cutter_guillotine_blades_knives.jpg

2. thicker than it needs to be, but could be fun to make some woodies with. I say do it.

Blog Entries
    1/2" thick? Wow! That would be a hefty blade. I say try it out.

The blade is still 4" deep?

Is the steel soft enough to grind down for finer fitting?
    You might be onto something, here.

I would be glad to trade some magic beans to experiment with this stock.

That is one heck of a piece of cutting steel. I don't know what the tungsten content will do to the workability of it, but it's worth a shot.

It did occur to me that the tungsten content will affect work-ability, however they are regrinding it some how. Also, with a dremel bit, they were able to slightly engrave our companies names. Im guessing the tungsten steel is layered to a softer metal.

You could also use it to make a very hefty infill plane body.

april1s1.jpg
    http://www.leevalley.com/US/wood/page.aspx?p=49588&cat=1,230,41182

Blog Entries
    you could make one hell of a wooden shooting plane....