Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I need a little help PLEASE!!!!

I need a little help PLEASE!!!!

I have been trying to cut coasters out of cork with a backing I got from lasersketch. I can engrave it perfectly but I can't cut through the 1/8" thick backing. Lasersketch said the use a 50w laser at 100% power and 5% speed with no problem. I try to cut it, no matter what power and EXTREMELY SLOW SPEED and all it does is pulverize the cork. They have no suggestions and neither do the tech guys from the laser dealer! Any ideas??

I'm a newbie but I'm getting the hang of everything pretty well but this has me very frustrated.

Engravelab V9
    CorelDraw Graphics Suite X7
    Boss 1630 60watt laser

What kind of backing? I would think you should be able to cut through at 15 or whatever you cut 1/8" acrylic at, possibly a bit faster. In fact, can you cut some other 1/8" material still? Should rule out an optic problem or something.
    170 watt pulsed CO2 laser from Vytek, 48x96" table
    90 watt XY galvo from Vytek
    32" hydraulic paper cutter
    30" Potdevin heated glue applicator with matching presser.